Why the girl loves Autumn

I know that it has been a while since my last post but such is the life of the educator. Summer is a gee whizz six week high of fun and frolics whilst September brings the back to school blues. However, October is the month it all starts to get better again. Birthdays and gifts (Charlatans tickets, a plethora of chocolates and a vintage dress for those who are interested), Halloween and half term wrapped in a hundred different shades of russet and a little bit of sunshine. Even the newfound chill in the air feels hopeful and alive as I crunch through the leaves in my beautiful new shiny patent Dr Martens Darcie boots and new military style Winter coat from Topshop. I look a little bit like a demented wartime housewife but I do have bit of a soft spot for that kind of thing. I am not very good at looking polished and glamorous so it a much more achievable target. Have spent too much money already  this month. Going back to work really does make me spend like a demon as if new stuff can make the work disappear. It doesn’t but it does make me feel a little bit better.

A final little thing I stumbled upon to help keep you warm…

This lovely bright red poncho from Love Miss Daisy is the kind of knitwear I can imagine Ali MacGraw wearing in ‘Love Story’ as it conjures up the late 1960s, early 70s look and would look great with a pair of skinny jeans and some vintage boots. Sadly, no part of me suits anything skinny.

Leave a comment